IndianEra > News > Sourav Ganguly To Be Next BCCI President

Hey, good news for Ganguly fans!

Your favorite ‘Team India’ former captain Sourav Ganguly has been chosen for the post of BCCI President against his contender Brijesh Patel, who failed at the last moment.

Home Minister Amit Shah’s son Jay Shah has been chosen for the post of Secretary, while Minister of State (MoS) Finance and former BCCI president Anurag Thakur’s brother Arun Dhumal secured the Treasurer post.

“Yes, Brijesh was running for the President’s post with N Srinivasan actively lobbying for him. However, there was stiff resistance against him. We are happy Sourav is the new President,” reads a statement.

October 14, 2019 was decided as the last date for nominations and there is no election for the candidates who emerged unopposed.

Sourav Ganguly BCCI President

Ganguly (47) is currently the President of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) and is scheduled to relieve from that post in September 2020 to undergo compulsory cooling-off period.

Former India coach Anhsuman Gaekwad, against Kirti, has been elected as male ICA representative Azad on BCCI’s nine-member Apex Council. Shanta Rangaswamy has already been elected as female ICA representative.

The entry of new office bearers will end the 33-month term of the Committee of Administrators.

Share this post
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted by IndianEra, 15/10/2019