IndianEra > Culture > Diwali 2020: India Celebrates Festival of Lights!

Today, the Hindu community is immersed in the celebrations of one of the most anticipated festivals in India, ‘Diwali’.

According to the Hindu calendar, Diwali is observed on the day of ‘Amavasya’ or new moon, the 15th day of Kartik. This year, it fell on November 14, 2020.

Also known as ‘Deepawali‘ or ‘Festival of Lights‘, Diwali symbolizes the victory of light over darkness. For many, it also marks the return of Lord Rama and Sita after 14 years of exile, and some celebrate the festival to mark the return of Pandavas after 12 years of vanvas and a year of agyatvas.

On this day, people clean and decorate their homes, workplace, and offices with lights, candles, lamps, rangolis, and garlands made from marigold flowers and mango leaves. They worship idols of Goddess Lakshmi and Lord Ganesha and offer silk clothes and jewelry during puja for prosperity and knowledge. Later in the evening, people burst firecrackers, celebrating the victory of light over darkness.

Diwali 2020 Puja timings:

  • Lakshmi Puja Muhurat: 5:28 PM to 7:24 PM
  • Pradosh Kaal: 5:28 PM to 8:07 PM
  • Vrishabha Kaal: 5:28 PM to 7:24 PM

The Amavasya Tithi will start at 2:17 PM on November 14 and end at 10:36 AM on November 15.

However, this year, many state governments have banned the sale and bursting of firecrackers due to the risk of the coronavirus pandemic.

List of states that banned the sale and bursting of firecrackers:

  • Delhi and NCR
  • Maharashtra
  • West Bengal
  • Odisha
  • Karnataka
  • Haryana
  • Rajasthan
  • Sikkim
  • Chandigarh

Meanwhile, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Punjab, and some other states have allowed the sale and bursting of green crackers.

IndianEra Wishes All Readers A Happy and Safe Diwali!

Share this post
Tagged ,
Posted by IndianEra, 14/11/2020
Leave a Reply