IndianEra > Government > India ‘Unopposed’, Becomes UNSC Member For 8th Term!

India secured its place at the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for a two-year non-permanent membership.

The country won 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly, making it to UNSC for the eighth time.

Ireland, Mexico, and Norway also became new UNSC members in the new poll held on June 17, 2020.

“Member states elect India to the non-permanent seat of the Security Council for the term 2021-22 with overwhelming support. India gets 184 out of the 192 valid votes polled,” India’s Permanent Mission to UN said in a tweet.

On January 01, 2020, India will share the top position with five permanent and non-permanent members.

“Deeply grateful for the overwhelming support shown by the global community for India’s membership of the UN Security Council. India will work with all member countries to promote global peace, security, resilience, and equity,” PM Narendra Modi tweeted.

Narendra Modi

Permanent members include China, France, Russia, the UK, and the US.

While Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia, and Vietnam are non-permanent members of the Council.

The current set of non-permanent members (Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia, and South Africa) have their membership ending this year.

The 55-member Asia-Pacific group nations endorsed India for membership in the Council for 2021-22 term.

[Also Read: India Forms 5 Principles For its Role At UNSC]

India feels that it deserves permanent membership at the Council.

“India will be guided by the five priorities under the overarching theme of NORMS: New Orientation for a Reformed Multilateral System,” the Indian Foreign Ministry said.

The five priorities include:

  • New opportunities for progress
  • Effective response to international terrorism
  • Reforms in multilateral systems
  • Comprehensive approach to international peace and security
  • Technology with a human touch

Before this, India served as a UNSC member in 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992, and lastly, in 2011-12.

Share this post
Tagged , , , , ,
Posted by IndianEra, 18/06/2020
Leave a Reply